Back to search

MIchael Crabtree

Wide Receiver

Michael Alex Crabtree, Jr.

Inducted 2022

Date of Birth



Dallas, TX


Texas Tech University (2007-2008)


The first two-time winner of the Biletnikoff Award, Michael Crabtree was one of the most electric wide receivers in college football history. The Dallas native is the sixth Red Raider player in the College Football Hall of Fame. The only two-time unanimous First Team All-American (2007, 2008) in Texas Tech history, Crabtree finished fifth in the 2008 Heisman Trophy voting. The 2007 Freshman All-American burst onto the scene by setting freshman single-season FBS and Big 12 records for receiving yards (1,962) and receptions (134). He also set freshmen records for receiving yards per game (150.9), touchdown receptions (22), receptions per game (10.3) and 100-yard receiving games (11). A two-time recipient of the Paul Warfield Award, he was also a two-time First Team All-Big 12 selection. Crabtree was named the Big 12 Co-Offensive Freshman of the Year in 2007. He was Texas Tech's all-time leader with 41 career receiving touchdowns and 15 career 100-yard receiving games and ranked second with 3,127 career receiving yards. He held the top two single season receiving touchdown marks in school history (22 in 2007, 19 in 2008). He was the 2007 Texas Tech MVP. In 2008, Crabtree led Texas Tech to a share of the Big 12 South Division title, an 11-2 record and the No. 12 final ranking. His highlight moment was a game-winning 28-yard touchdown with one second remaining against top-ranked Texas in 2008. Crabtree led the Red Raiders to two bowl games, including a win in the 2008 Gator Bowl. The 2020 Texas Tech Hall of Fame inductee was named to the school's Football Ring of Honor in 2021. The 10th overall pick in the 2009 NFL Draft by the San Francisco 49ers, Crabtree played 11 professional seasons.


Height 6'1"

Weight 215

Career Highlights

  • 2008 Biletnikoff Award Winner
  • 2008 First Team All-Big 12
  • 2008 Unanimous First Team All-America
  • 2007 Big 12 Offensive Freshmen of the Year
  • 2007 Biletnikoff Award Winner
  • 2007 First Team All-Big 12
  • 2007 Unanimous First Team All-America
Icon Tickets

Secure your tickets now and be apart of the legacy. Don’t miss the chance to experience greatness firsthand!

Icon Membership

Unlock exclusive access and be part of something legendary. Join our community and enjoy premium benefits today!

Icon Shop

Take a piece of greatness home. Shop our exclusive collection of themed items and preserve the legacy in your own way!